New Year Dates in April

Theravadin Buddhist New Year - The Tharavadin Buddhists of Thailand, Burma, Sri Lanka, Cambodia, and Lao celebrate the New Year on the first full moon day with three days of celebration.

April 14 - Solar New Year (Songkran) - This new year's day is celebrated in many southeast Asia countries as Baisakhi in India, Bangladesh, and Sri Lanka (or Varushapirapu); Songkran in Thailand; Boum Pimay or Bun-Pi-Mai-Lao in Laos; Thingyan in Myanmar; and Bon Chol Chhnam in Cambodia. The exact time on the 13th or 14th is determined by astrologers.

April 14 - Nepali New Year Day - The specific time of the New Year is set by astrologers on the 13th or 14th.

April 13 or April 14 - Sikh New Year Day (Vaisaki or Baisakhi) -On this day in 1699, Guru Gobind Singh created the Brotherhood of the Pure.

April 14 - Sinhala /Tamil New Year's Day - Sri Lankans celebrate their national New Year's Day (Puththandu in Tamil and Aluth Avurudhu in Sinhala). The specific time of the New Year is set by astrologers on the 13th or 14th.

The Tamil New Year and Vishu are celebrated on the same day respectively in the Southern Indian states of Tamil Nadu and Kerala. They generally fall on 13 April or 14 April. The first month of the Tamil New Year is called Chithrai.

The Thai New Year is celebrated from 13 April to 15 April by throwing water.

The Cambodian New Year and Lao New Year are celebrated from 13 April to 15 April.

The Bengali New Year called Pohela Baisakh is celebrated on 14 April or 15 April in both Bangladesh and West Bengal.

April 22 - Parsi New Year Day also known as Pateti is celebrated on April 23 (April 22nd on leap years), this is one of the local new years celebrated in India.

24 - Babylonian New Year - The Babylonian New Year begins the Nabonassar Era Year 2752 on April 25th (24th on leap years).