US Open Tennis

The US Open, properly the United States Open Tennis Championships, is a tennis tournament which is the modern incarnation of one of the oldest tennis championships in the world, with the U.S. National Championship, which for men's singles was primary contested in 1881. Since 1987, the US Open has been the fourth and final tennis major comprising the Grand Slam tennis tournament each year.
It is held yearly in August and September over a two-week period. The main tournament of US open tennis consists of five different event championships: men's and women's singles, men's and women's doubles, and mixed doubles, with additional tournaments for senior, junior, and wheelchair players.

Grand Slam Tennis US Open

The US Open is possibly the most open and competitive grand slam tournament of the season. With injuries and the strains of the ATP and WTA Tours having taken their toll on the world's highest ranked tennis players, the door to grand slam glory is opened to talented up-and-coming tennis stars. The U.S. Open is the last of the four Grand Slam tournaments played yearly over the course of the tennis tournament season. The tournament began as the U.S. National Championship in 1881.

The United States National Lawn Tennis Association first hosted the tournament. The first year the Newport Casino in Newport hosted the competition, which only allowed men who belonged to the association to compete. Six years later women's singles tournament was added, and ever since doubles, senior, junior, and even wheelchair divisions have been created.
About Us Sitemap Disclaimer Privacy Policy Link to Us Resources XML Sitemap Blog