Champions League Twenty20

Champions League Twenty20 was introduced in 2008 for first time, but first edition of tournament was held in 2009, because of terror attack in Mumbai. The CLT20 mutually conducted by BCCI, CA (Cricket Australia), and CSA (Cricket South Africa). The decision to found tournament taken just after ending of Indian Premier League, by the talk amongst India, South Africa and Australia with the motive to form new international club contests. CLT20 is a grand annual international sport of twenty20 format, amongst top domestic teams from major cricketing nations.
As a positive response in success of Indian Premier League, N Srinivasan, chairperson of BCCI, was decided to launch Champions League Twenty20. However, the idea of t20 cricket format came from European country as firstly launched in 2003 by England and Wales Cricket Board for entertaining audience with limited over's cricket.

The format was mainly designed to attract a younger crowd and boost attendances. The organizers were considering hosting the Champions League Twenty20 tournament in 2009 (First Edition) in India at five venues namely Kolkata, Chennai, Hyderabad, Bangalore and New Delhi. The tournament was conducted by four cricketing nations such as India, Australia, South Africa and England, which including two teams from each nation. But after few conflicting, England was withdrawn from the competitions and decided only one team participated.

First edition of CLT20 was featured 12 teams, held in 2009, won by New South Wales Blues by defeating Trinidad & Tobago. In 2010, second edition of Champions League Twenty20 was hosted by South Africa features only ten teams, title seized by Chennai Super Kings by defeating Warriors. Last CLT20 was held in 2012, hosted by India includes total thirteen teams, title owned by Mumbai Indians over Royal Challengers Bangalore.

2013 CLT20

In 2013, fourth edition of 2013 CLT20 is going to happen in South Africa, featuring fourteen teams (six teams in qualifier round), will take place from October 9 to October 28, 2013. The tournament featuring qualifying stage that introduced in 2012, marks 29 matches include also qualifier matches.

The qualifier stage will take place from October 1 to October 12, 2013. For first time, a team from Pakistan makes entry in Champions League Twenty20 2013, participating for qualifying round. Only two qualifying teams will join with top eight teams for the group stage.

The venue is decided as Cape Town, Johannesburg, Centurion and Durban. Total ten teams including two qualifiers teams, divided in two groups, will play for group stage and knockout stages. The teams are:

Group A: Kolkata Knight Riders, Delhi Daredevils, Perth Scorchers, Titans, and Yorkshire Carnegie
Group B: Mumbai Indians, Chennai Super Kings, Sydney Sixers, Highveld Lions, and Auckland Aces
About Us Sitemap Disclaimer Privacy Policy Link to Us Resources XML Sitemap Blog