Cricket World Cup

The cricket world cup is a worldwide sports event. The Cricket World Cup is the most important and prestigious cup in the ODI. This prestigious cup was firstly organized in England in 1975. These WC matches are based on One Day International cricket matches. World Cup matches are organized by the International Cricket Council or ICC.
This most prestigious tournament is take place after every four years since held the first time in England in 1975. The number of teams and matches are increased than first cricket world cup match. Out of all the teams Australia has been the most champion, winning 4 titles. World cup first tournament was played in 1975, and West Indies won the first title. The second one was same with West Indies winning it in 1979.

After the first two tournaments, asians got the lead. 1983 cup won by India. Australia won their first cup in 1987. Pakistan was won under the captaincy of Imran Khan, one of the greatest cricket captains the world has ever seen, and won the 1992 cup. In 1996, the cup still remained in Asia, and Srilanka became winners. Australia has been ruling the cricket world for the past decade, and has won the cup in 1999, 2003 and 2007. The ICC trophy which is presented to the champion of the cup was created in 1999 and was the first permanent prize awarded.

This trophy made of gold and silver features a golden globe which is supported by 3 silver columns, which represent the 3 face of cricket, such as batting, bowling and fielding where the globe stands for a cricket ball.
About Us Sitemap Disclaimer Privacy Policy Link to Us Resources XML Sitemap Blog