Fifa World Cup Prize Money

The 2010 FIFA World Cup will be the 19th FIFA World Cup, which is scheduled to take place between 11 June and 11 July 2010 in South Africa. The 2010 FIFA World Cup will be the culmination of a qualification procedure that began in August 2007 and involved 204 of the 208 FIFA national teams.
This will be the first time that the An African nation hosts the FIFA world cup tournament, after South Africa beat Morocco and Egypt in an all-African bidding process. Italy is the defending champions. The FIFA world cup total prize money on offer for the tournament was confirmed by FIFA as $420 million, a 60 per cent increase on the 2006 tournament.

Each participating team would receive $1 million before tournament, for preparation costs. Once at the tournament, teams exiting at the group stage would receive $8 million. After that, the prize money would be distributed as follows :
  • $9 million - Round of 16
  • $18 million - Quarter-finals
  • $20 million - Semi-finals
  • $24 million - Runners up
  • $30 million - Winners

In a first for the World Cup, there would also be payments made by FIFA to the domestic club of the players representing their national teams at the tournament. This would see a total of 26 million being paid to domestic clubs, amounting to just over 1,000 per player per day.
About Us Sitemap Disclaimer Privacy Policy Link to Us Resources XML Sitemap Blog