Common Wealth Games

The commonwealth games is a multi-sport, multinational event. Held every four years, it involves the best athletes of the Commonwealth of Nations. The first common wealth games were detained in 1930 in Hamilton, Canada where 11 countries sent 400 athletes to get participate in 6 sports and 59 events.
Since then, the Games have been organized every four years (except for 1942 and 1946 due to World War II) and the occasion has seen many changes, not least in its original name.

Commonwealth Games 2010

From 1930 to 1950 the Games were recognized as the British Empire Games, from 1954 until 1966 the British Empire and Commonwealth Games and from 1970 to 1974 they got on the name of British Commonwealth Games.

It was the 1978 Games in Edmonton that saw this world class, exclusive, multi-sports event change its name to the commonwealth games, Often referred to as the 'Friendly Games' only lone contest sports had been on the programme from 1930 up to and including the 1994 Games in Victoria.

The 1998 Games which held in Kuala Lumpur saw the introduction of team sports with nations taking part in cricket (50 over game), netball (women), hockey (men and women) and rugby 7's (men). In Manchester in 2002 netball, hockey and rugby 7's graced the programme once more and at the 2006 Games in Melbourne accompanied netball, hockey and rugby 7's on the programme. In Delhi in 2010 hockey, netball and rugby 7's will once more feature. The story of the Games evolved yet again on the 9th November 2007 when Glasgow (Scotland) was get the right to host the 2014 Commonwealth Games.
About Us Sitemap Disclaimer Privacy Policy Link to Us Resources XML Sitemap Blog