Ireland Cricket Team

The Ireland cricket team is the cricket team representing all of Ireland cricket players. The Irish Cricket team is the governing body of Irish cricket. The Irish cricket team is a recreational one, with cricket players forced to take time away from their full-time jobs to represent their country in cricket. Efforts have been made to professionalize the team even though funding has been a difficulty.
Despite the challenging financial environment, Cricket Ireland has announced additional sponsorship funding to increase from two to six the number of full time professional players with partial funding for a further four county players. Ireland is one of the minnows of the Cricket World Cup. but they should not be underestimated as they have shown on countless occasions that they are capable of causing one or two upsets on the big stage. They are one of the associate members of the ICC which means they are the test playing nations and therefore need to qualify for the major tournaments such as Cricket World Cup.

They have shown though that they are one of the top teams in the second tier and have ambitions of joining the top tier and becoming a test playing nation. Ireland is coming into this cricket world Cup by qualifying winning the ICC Championship held in 2012 where they defeated Canada to gain access to the big event second time in a row.

Ireland has qualified for 2012 ICC World Cup by winning ICC Championship held in playgrounds. It has given some good performances last time and had beaten Pakistan, which is ranked at fourth place at that time. It drew against Zimbabwe in another match and qualified for Super 8 stage. Though it could not go too far, but it is able to register victory against 'giant slayers' Bangladesh.

Cricket team
William Porterfield (captain), Andre Botha, Alex Cusack, George Dockrell, Phil Eaglestone, Allan Eastwood, James Hall, Trent Johnston, Nigel Jones, Ed Joyce, Rory McCann, John Mooney, Kevin O'Brien, Niall O'Brien, Andrew Poynter, Boyd Rankin, Paul Stirling, Albert van der Merwe, Regan West, Gary Wilson, Andrew White, Craig Young.
About Us Sitemap Disclaimer Privacy Policy Link to Us Resources XML Sitemap Blog