Sri Lanka Cricket Team

The national cricket team of Sri Lanka is recognized as the Sri Lankan Cricket team. The Sri Lanka Cricket boards control the team. The Sri Lanka Cricket team opening played international cricket in 1975. In 1981 it was given the position to play test matches becoming the eight-test nation. The 1996 Sri Lanka Cricket team showed extraordinary performance becoming the World Champions.
The strongest players include Aravinda de Silva, Sanath Jayasuriya, backed up by the accurate bowling of Muttiah Muralitharan and Chaminda Vaas. Sri Lankan cricket team has undergone big changes over the years. The resurgence was initiated by Arjuna Ranatunga and reached its climax in the World Cup triumph in 1996. Sri Lanka was unbeatable in the whole tournament and won it without losing a single match.

This was a amazing achievement in the light of the fact that Sri Lanka had never advanced beyond the preliminary round of all the earlier World Cups it had participated. The Sri Lankan team has emerged from underdog to big cricketing nation. With its share of ups and down, Sri Lanka continues to be the main force in International Cricket and comes in the league of World top teams like India, Australia and South Africa.

Sri Lanka cricket team has strong batting line up like Sanath Jayasuriya and Aravinda & de Silva bowling of Chaminda Vaas & Muttiah Muralitharan, has contributed a lot to the soaring victory of Sri Lanka, in recent time. This is supported by the fact that Srilankan team has numerous records in One Day, Test Match and last but not the least 1996 World Cup winners.
About Us Sitemap Disclaimer Privacy Policy Link to Us Resources XML Sitemap Blog